Stand-Out Sweaters


So I’ve had this really cool sweater for about two years and any time I wear it, people give me some compelling looks. BUT, recently I’ve been seeing a few other girls wearing sweaters very similar to mine so I figured now would be a good time to style it. I found this 5/48 sweater at a Nordstrom’s Rack for a steal of $60 (it was originally $280). The only down side to this statement piece is that it gets stuck on everything

LOOK 1

IMG_3019
Headband: The Hangout || Bralette: Urban Outfitters || Jeans: Urban Outfitters || Shoes: Old Navy

IMG_3036

IMG_3026 IMG_3030

IMG_3037

Festival goers: this look is for you! With the temperature dropping and the festival line ups bumping, this sweater is the perfect mix of grunge and warmth. Find the coolest bralette you can get your hands on and torn up jeans. Boyfriend jeans would also look really cool with this. Maybe even some trippy leggings if you’re into that kind of stuff (though I don’t recommend it…). I found this the-dye head band at The Hangout in OBA and am obsessed with it for some reason. Throw on your favorite ankle boots and jewelry to finish off the look.

IMG_3046

(Feeling bird-like in this sweater… which calls for frolicking)

LOOK 2

IMG_3047
Jumper: NOLA || Necklace: H&M || Shoes: Steve Madden || Hat: Blink

Me and Bailey discovered the Secret Garden of Lafayette today and figured my felt hat and purple wedges looked great with the greenery… notice that I climbed on top of this little archway to snap a few of these pics.

IMG_3060

Pull out that blank jumpsuit that you threw into the summer pile and put this sweater over it to create a totally new look. The fringe necklace adds another pop of brightness but doesn’t clash with the plum of my shoes.

IMG_3053IMG_3062

LOOK 3

IMG_3066
Necklace: Urban Outfitters || Skirt: Urban Outfitters || Shoes: Steve Madden 

IMG_3068

IMG_3072IMG_3073

IMG_3078

Throwback: I wore this exact outfit last year for Thanksgiving and in my family Christmas card pictures. So, happy one year reunion to me and this outfit! And yes, I do form deep relationships with my clothes. Anyway. If you’re going to wear a skirt with this sweater, since it’s a high to low hem, wear a fit-to-flare skirt or pencil skirt to show off your curves. Black tights and black booties create one clean line to lengthen my legs (always necessary). I put on my green ceramic cross to add a little color and bring out the green in my eyes. I suggest wearing some gold bangles or a big gold cuff to brighten up the look a little bit! Unfortunately I forgot mine ad didn’t have time to go get it because we were in a race against the sun. Putting a black tank under this sweater makes it warmer and look a little more like a heat source rather than a dainty blouse, like in the first look.

One thought on “Stand-Out Sweaters

  1. I recently saw a friend wear that sweater in a picture and was VERY taken a back at first thinking – woah, what a risk in wearing something like that! However I LOVE that sweater on you! I prefer the second and third look (more of a conservative girl) but it definitely gives me options to the funky sweaters hidden in my closet. Thanks so much, “fashionista”!

    Like

Leave a Reply

