Metallic Minis


Last year (as in a few months ago in 2014) I found this really cool side zipped metallic skirt from Maven in Lafayette. The girls in the store showed me a few different ways to style it, and I’ve personalized those ideas and made them my own. Everyone should invest in one of these bold bottoms; I’m obsessed with mine. They’re much more versatile than you would think!

LOOK 1

Tee: BCBG || Blazer: Urban Outfitters || Necklace: Saks Off 5th || Shoes: Steve Madden || Gold and black bangles: Kate Spade || White bangle: Coach || Squared Gem bangle: Merci Beaucoup
Tee: BCBG || Blazer: Urban Outfitters || Necklace: Saks Off 5th || Shoes: Steve Madden || Gold and black bangles: Kate Spade || White bangle: Coach || Squared Gem bangle: Merci Beaucoup

This might be my favorite look so far! Though I really wish I had a classic blue blazer… trend alert: all shades of blue are big colors for spring 2015! Putting the bright blazer over an easy graphic tee creates a casual, comfortable, and classic look. Because my t-shirt covers most of the skirt, it tones the skirt down without over shining it. This tee has a crew neck with a deep V back, with a shorter front than back. The long back covers the bottom of my skirt which creates a new look from the back and prevents the different lengths of each layer from cutting off my form. No outfit is complete without your favorite pair of booties! I found these awesome earrings in a little boutique called Green Serene down Magazine St. in NOLA. They double as simple and edgy because the front is just a stud, while the back is a long spike. The greatest thing about this new jewelry trend is the fact that you can mix and match both parts of the earrings! A simple gold chain and some bangles bring in some brightness and more metallic hues. And In case anyone is doesn’t know, “en chante” means “nice to meet you” in French!

IMG_0011 IMG_0019

LOOK 2

Sweater: The Loft || Necklace: H&M || Boots: I Love Shoes
Sweater: The Loft || Necklace: H&M || Boots: I Love Shoes

To dress this skirt down, I decided to stick with neutrals to make the skirt the statement piece. This cozy semi-cropped sweater will keep you warm without taking away from the skirt, and the orange necklace just adds a pop of a brighter neutral color. I’d prefer to wear translucent brown tights with some kind of lace up flat, but I’m short on inventory. My college budget doesn’t exactly fund for my fashion addiction… I made due with simple black tights and my suede wedged knee-highs!

IMG_0028 IMG_0032

LOOK 3

Shirt: Lucy & Co || Shoes: Steve Madden || Earrings: || Lipstick: Sephora
Shirt: Lucy & Co || Shoes: Steve Madden || Earrings: stolen from Carley Pere || Lipstick: Sephora

Dress this skirt up with a nice patterned blouse to wear it to it’s full potential! My snake skin printed top has classic lines created from the cut of the shirt. A new take on an old look is achieved with the unique clasp that holds the top together. I really wish I had brought my royal blue suede and snake skin Steve Madden pumps to Lafayette, they would’ve topped this look off. But you can never go wrong with black heeled booties! The simple flat-pressed gold dangles add just the smallest amount of shine. Add a deep purple lip to this black and white look to give a pop of color and make it the perfect winter look. IMG_0041 IMG_0042

LOOK 4

Sweater: Urban Outfitters || Necklace: Saks Off 5th || HNY hat: Party City
Sweater: Urban Outfitters || Necklace: Saks Off 5th || HNY hat: Party City

If you’re looking for the perfect party look this winter, put on a baggy cropped sweater and a statement necklace! I wore this outfit for New Years Eve this year and was just as warm as I was trendy. I’m wearing the same tights and black booties in the third look and the same earrings from the first look. I did a smokey eye with silver liner on the inside of my eye for a little bit of shimmer; the red lips pull in another bright color but isn’t overkill! Red lips should really be considered a neutral at this point… they top off any look. And if anyone is wondering where Lauren found that incredible red leather jacket: Forever 21. I’m stealing it from her.

Oh, and light up cups are cool, right?

Leave a Reply

