Simple Sweaters


Quick request: my sorority is raising money for the Gamma Kappa chapter of Kappa Delta by selling KD magazines! The money goes to our Chapter House fund and each member is asked to raise $40 by selling or having the magazines renewed. If you can donate in any way possible, please follow this link (www.efundraising.com/GammaKappaUniversityo…/CarolineMarchand) to be redirected to my personal site! Thanks in advance, every penny helps!!

From the looks of the title, I’m assuming that you might think it’s a little strange that I’m doing a post dedicated to something as easy as a sweater. But there’s much more to do with it than just throw it over some jeans or leggings! And now that this Louisiana weather is back to being bipolar, it’s kind of difficult to figure out how to dress to the seasons. It’s still winter, so you should still be dressing accordingly. But since the weather is getting a little warmer and spring is in our midst, this J.Crew sweater is the perfect transition piece!

LOOK 1

Dress: Gap || Necklace: (no idea, Mom gave it to me for Christmas) || Shoes: I Love Shoes || Watch: Gucci || Panther Bangle: BCBG || Cuff: Michael Kors
Dress: Gap || Necklace: (no idea, Mom gave it to me for Christmas) || Shoes: I Love Shoes || Watch: Gucci || Panther Bangle: BCBG || Cuff: Michael Kors

IMG_0190

This look is still wintery because of the layers and the suede boots. It’s also good for spring because of the bright colors! I’d say it’s better for early spring time because the sweater is so vibrant and the material is so light. Layering sweaters with button downs is back in style and it’s the perfect way to add an extra layer to your outfit without making it look heavier. This button down just happens to be a dress, so find a simple sweater that flatters your body type to prevent from looking frumpy. If we’re being honest, this outfit doesn’t flatter me as much as I’d like for it to… but I wanted to showcase this option because I love how easy is it! I added a little bit of bling with this rhinestoned knotted necklace and a few simple bracelets. The knee-high boots cover up majority of my leg, which makes them perfect for the cool winter air.

IMG_0192 IMG_0203 IMG_0201 IMG_0196

IMG_0210

LOOK 2

IMG_0223
Jacket: Bella Bella || Necklace: Apricot Lane || Jeans: Gap || Purse: Steve Madden || Shoes: Steve Madden

Jacket: Lost April || Necklace: Apricot Lane || Shoes: Steve Madden || Purse: Steve Madden

IMG_0227 IMG_0232

Now this is just about as basic as it gets. Jeans and a sweater. But maybe instead of your typical skinnies and boots, try flare (or bootcut) dark washes and some wedges! Most flare jeans are made super long, so obviously I always have to wear heels with mine. This is also one of the very few times in my life where I look tall (!!!). The jeans and the jacket give off a bit of a 70’s vibe, so add to it with layered necklaces and your favorite gold hoops. Like I said before, this sweater is perfect for the transitioning weather. To make it a little cozier, put on light jacket with some texture to it. The back of this one is tan suede (forgot to shoot the back..oops) with faux fur and cotton sleeves. Ideally, a big tote would look best with this outfit but I’m limited to my everyday bag- a crocodile textured and colored shoulder bag. This purse is also perfect for all seasons because it’s a dark color for fall and winter, but it’s exterior is thin and delicate for spring and summer.

IMG_0266

Leave a Reply

