Fangirling Over Fashion


T’was the day. The day I had been longing for since I found out I could attend some branch of New York Fashion Week back in October… The day we got to sit front row at a fashion show. I hope you enjoyed my dramatic introduction because the rest is going to impress you for sure. Because Mercedes Benz Fashion Week tickets are impossible to get unless you’re a celebrity or richer than Bill Gates… they stopped offering Fashion Week tickets to professional fashion bloggers after Oscar De La Renta died because he thoughtΒ “commoners” weren’t worthy of seeing the latest lines be premiered… Anyway, we scored some front row seats to a Couture Fashion Week show, which is kind of like a knock off version of the real thing! But since MBFW is going on right now too, there’s been paparazzi everywhere so I feel like a pretty big deal just by being here right now. At the show we saw today, three up-and-coming designers presented their work. Ly Giam Tien was the only one who stood out to me– the other two consisted of obnoxious, overly beaded, 20 pound bridal gowns (and only about five of them) and tacky costume designs meant to be formal gowns. Ly Giam Tien is only 18 years old and is certainly about to make a major name for himself. His work was incredible… each piece was totally unique and perfectly crafted. His clothing was monotoned to black and white with little splashes of gold. The craftsmanship was something unlike anything I had ever seen before; mod, modern, decorative, minimal.. I could go on and on. Somehow this teenager managed to create a line completely based on original ideas; no two pieces were similar and each piece was sewn without flaw. Well done, Ly Giam Tien. Honestly, the other designers in this show didn’t even come close to comparing… Did I mention he’s 18? That’s my age. To my fellow college students: Does that make anyone else ask themselves “What the hell am I doing with my life?” Yeah I thought so… Here’s a sneak peak at the show! IMG_0671 IMG_0672 IMG_0673 IMG_0676 IMG_0680 IMG_0681 IMG_0682 IMG_0686 IMG_0688 IMG_0690 IMG_0692 IMG_0693 IMG_0694 IMG_0697 IMG_0698 IMG_0699 IMG_0702 IMG_0703 IMG_0705 IMG_0706 IMG_0707 IMG_0708 IMG_0711 IMG_0712 IMG_0714 IMG_0715 IMG_0716 IMG_0717 IMG_0719 IMG_0720 IMG_0721 IMG_0722 IMG_0723 IMG_0726 IMG_0729 IMG_0731 IMG_0733 IMG_0734 IMG_0736 Want to know what we were wearing? Keep on readin’. But I’ll give you a hint: one of the professional photographer’s for the show came up to us and asked to take our picture because–and I quote–“you girls look fabulous”. That may or may not have been the highlight of my year… or life; I don’t know.

MOM’S LOOK

IMG_0772
Coat: vintage || Necklace: BCBG || Shirt: Edit by LPB || Skirt: BCBG

Mom is wearing a sleek, textured skirt made out of dyed feathers with a zipper going down the back. Her wedged boots give her a little height and a lot of warmth. Today there were record breaking winds… probably not but it sure felt like it to us southerners. It was 10 degrees on average today with winds around 18 mph. So yeah I guess you could say it was pretty brutal :/ But back to the outfit. Mom’s cowl neck blouse gave her another bit of texture and the necklace took on the role of covering up her neck. This silver necklace with blue stones brings out the blue in the skirt and is the perfect mix of delicate and busyness.

IMG_0742 IMG_0744

AMELIA’S LOOK

IMG_0756
Vest: found in the back out our closet || Blouse: Tobi || Skirt: Urban Outfitters || Necklace: vintage; stolen from Gigi’s jewelry box || Earrings: Hemline

Amelia’s mix of spring and winter colors combined perfectly for the weather back in BR; it’s the middle of winter up here. But the gold tone of the vest was brought out with the gold collar necklace and the tusk earrings. The green shirt brought out her eyes, too. This fit-to-flare skirt is made out of sweater material, making it extremely warm. Amelia wore my mom’s black suede booties and a long black coat over her outfit.

IMG_0755IMG_0769

ELISE’S LOOK

IMG_0753
Coat: vintage || Jumpsuit: Michael Kors || Booties: Vertage || Necklace: Mom’s from who knows how long ago

Elise is wearing a trendy V-neck jumpsuit found on major sale. She wore tights underweight to block out some wind and I just realized that I don’t have a picture of her shoes… they were brownish red booties with an open heel and peep toe. They matched perfectly with the fur coat. The gold charm necklace was the perfect bit of class to complete the look.

IMG_0746 IMG_0770

MY LOOK

IMG_0768
Coat: Forever 21 || Sweater: Forever 21 || Jeans: Saks Off 5th || Shoes: Call It Spring || Choker: handmade by me || Double-strand Necklace: Rodeo Boutique || Earrings: Green Serene

IMG_0767 IMG_0759

I decided to go for a sleek look today. I wore all black; my sweater was cropped and my jeans were wax coated. My edgy jewelry added to my style, while the gold brought in a little bit of brightness despite the cold sky. My blue booties acted as a subtle pop of color, but keeps with the color scheme, and a lot of comfort– they were just as sleek as the rest of my look and were definitely made for walking. I wore a simple black coat over this dark grey fur, along with my red leather gloves and a white pashmina scarf. My low, loose, ballet bun kept my hair out of my face but made my outfit seem even more sleek. IMG_0763

So basically today was a day I had been dreaming of since I was a little girl…. Going to a fashion show in New York was so surreal! And being front row was awesome. So since I was in the background of the press’s pictures, does this mean I’m famous now?

IMG_0774 IMG_0665

P.S.- I know the quality of the pictures is lame, my Canon has just about been worn out…

One thought on “Fangirling Over Fashion

Leave a Reply

