A Sweet Sweater Story


February’s Throw Back Thursday has a very special story behind it. Over Christmas break, I was at my grandmother’s house. We were digging through her old stuff, finding things like my late grandfather’s army uniform, Gigi’s gown from when she was queen of Krewe De Louisianne, and this beautiful beaded sweater. This sweater comes all the way from Nassau, Bahamas, 1963. It was the day of the LSU vs. Ole Miss football game on October 27th. Gigi and Hoho were in the Bahamas for their honeymoon where she found this sweater in the airport and loved it. Hoho didn’t want to pay for it, so they placed a bet on it. If Ole Miss wins the game, Gigi gets the sweater. Needless to say, LSU lost that day. Take note that this sweater used to be crisp white, as were all of the pearls!

LOOK 1

IMG_0905
Shirt: Nordstrom Off the Rack || Pants: Urban Outfitters || Shoes: Steve Madden || Purse: Urban Expressions || Earrings: Free People

IMG_0914 IMG_0918 IMG_0922 IMG_0925 IMG_0935

Carley and I took a little trip downtown today. I’ve been wanting to shoot there for a while and I figured this was the perfect look for it! Since cardigans aren’t really in style right now, I put a bunch of trendy pieces with it to bring it up to speed. I’m wearing a simple white tee tucked into high waisted trousers. The sash of the pants tied into a bow brings in the same innocence as the sweater has from the floral beading. These pants are tricky to put shoes with; they only look good with strappy heels, slip ons, or sandals. So I went with my favorite suede/snakeskin Steve Madden pumps. Normally I wouldn’t think that these particular shades of yellow and blue go together, but the tweed clutch matches perfectly with the sweater and the pumps! Tweed is great for spring, which makes this bag a good season-transitioning piece.

LOOK 2

IMG_0941
Blouse: J.Crew || Skirt: Timewharp || Shoes: Steve Madden

IMG_0937IMG_0957
IMG_0961 IMG_0968 IMG_0969 IMG_0970

You can’t go to downtown Lafayette and not stop at Borden’s… Did y’all know that Borden’s doesn’t even make ice cream anymore?! Lucky for me, Lafayette has spared me 🙂 I’m obsessed with sherbet and sorbet, so I treated myself to some orange sherbet ice cream for going to barre class. Don’t follow me on this, kids. So on the preppy side of the spectrum, I layered this sweater like I do all my sweaters. Sorry, I’m addicted to this look right now. I took the sash from the pants of “look 1” and used it as a neck tie! All I did was wrap it around my neck like a tie and tied it into a bow. I’m wearing the same earrings from the previous look, too. My vintage skirt is pretty tight around my waist, so the layers tucked into it didn’t really help to flatter my figure but y’all get the picture… The leather skirt counteracts the sweater because of the diversity of styles. I chose my two-toned boots because the brown tops bring out my color of my coral lipstick. I think black suede over the knee boots would look better, honestly! I don’t have any so this was the next best thing. I threw my hair into a knot to keep from added bulk around my neck– there’s enough with the collar and the bow!

Big thanks to Gigi for my fabulous vintage find. I love the story behind it almost as much as I love her!

3 thoughts on “A Sweet Sweater Story

  1. I am so proud I am just beaming. You look just beautiful in that sweater that means so very much to me. I have tears running down my cheeks. Thank you so much Caroline for bringing it back to life after all these years.

    Like

Leave a Reply

