Send Caroline to School


I completely forgot to post this week partially because I was sick, partially because the weather sucked, and partially because I’ve been trying to find the right words to say what I’m about to say… I’m sure most of you have heard, but I’ve made the decision to transfer to LSU this upcoming fall. As much as I love my Kappa Delta’s here at UL, I have to move on if I want to pursue fashion; UL unfortunately cannot provide me with the courses I need to do so.  I want to thank my sisters in Kappa Delta (allow me to be sappy for a sec) for filling my freshman year with joy and unconditional love. You’ve all been a huge blessing in my life and I cannot thank you enough for welcoming me into your little world so graciously. Honestly I was a little iffy about rushing this summer…not that I’m anti-Greek in the slightest, I just knew that if I was to join a sorority, it would be close to impossible to leave when I decided I needed to. Originally I didn’t even want to attend LSU; I had every intention of leaving BR (and Louisiana for that matter) to get a head start on my potential fashion career in New York. But once I became a member of KD, a big part of me couldn’t leave that all behind. New York could never give me the amount of love and warmth (get it?) that my dear home can give me, whether it be Lafayette or Baton Rouge. The great thing about starting off here in Lafayette is that I know I’ll always have a place to run to if need be with a handful of girls ready and willing to take me in. I’ve grown to love the town and this campus and I couldn’t have gotten through freshman year if it weren’t for the relationships I’ve made here in Kappa Delta. As much as my beloved big Katelyn (go check out her blog 🙂 ) will try to change my mind on this, I can’t be swayed at this point. Leaving is what’s going to be best for me in the long run.

A major part of me feels the need to be back home in Baton Rouge to be closer to my family. I can’t help but feel like I’m always missing out… every time I come home, my sisters have a new inside joke and I hate that I wasn’t there to be a part of it! I hate having to change my schedules around my sisters’ dances so I can get home in time to do their hair. I hate that I miss my relative’s birthday parties. I do like the idea of being able to escape to Lafayette whenever I need to, but that doesn’t compensate for the lack of family time I’m getting by staying here. Another thing that bothers me about being away from home is the fact that I have to schedule all of my appointments within one weekend and end up having to reschedule majority of them because I get stuck on the Whiskey Bay bridge for hours or some mandatory event is sprung on me in Lafayette. I miss my parents’ cooking. I miss St. Joseph’s Academy and I want to be able to barge into Mrs. Neck’s classes whenever I want to. I miss my friends and my grandmothers and my cats. I miss Fat Cow (way too much and way too often). When I was little, I could never spend the night out… I would wake my friends’ parents up and make them bring me home at 2 AM because I couldn’t fall asleep. Some nights I still feel that way: irrevocably homesick. Hopefully one day I’ll be able to venture out and spend a few years studying fashion in New York, but right now I need the support and safety of my home town. I’m sure I’ll get sick of it soon enough and maybe then I can head off to the big city! But I’m beyond excited to officially be a Tiger and experience all the hype that is LSU!!! There’s nothing like a Louisiana Saturday Night in Tiger Stadium… the Keg is a close second, though.

I will be majoring in Fashion Merchandising and possibly minoring in Business at LSU next semester. I kind of want to do Graphic Design too… so if anyone reading this is in it, hit me up and give me some info on it! As you’ve probably noticed, I decided not to apply to the Fashion Institute in New York for the upcoming semester. My thought process on this is that if I’m homesick in Lafayette, there’s no way I wouldn’t get homesick over 1,000 miles away from home. I can’t miss that many any football games! And no one makes red beans and rice like we do down south… also I hate the cold. It’s the worst. I might try again later, but as of right now, I’m staying in the south. So with that in mind, I have found the happiest of mediums to get my NY fill. My plan is to spend the month of July this summer taking a few classes at FIT. I don’t even have to get into the school to take them; I just sign up! My parents asked me to raise some of the money to go so PLEASE HIRE ME THIS SUMMER (hence the title of the post)!! I’ll be in BR starting May 10th and will probably be home for the majority of the summer, with the exception of a few vacations. I will post those details on my Contact Me page later on when I get a general schedule of my summer.

Even though I have about two months left in Lafayette, I’m already feeling a little nostalgic… so here are a few of my favorite pictures from my year spent at UL. Thanks to all who made it so special, especially my KD’s. Love in AOT. IMG_0147 10603472_10203775594609230_2579425534935025067_n1383435_10204481274213998_8093287490735600832_n 10535632_10204467385426787_8029248148548765708_o IMG_0155 IMG_0418 IMG_0168 IMG_0676 IMG_0851 IMG_0958 IMG_0974 IMG_1282 IMG_1287 IMG_2715 IMG_1367 IMG_1613 IMG_1512IMG_3303 IMG_3289 IMG_3330 IMG_1867 IMG_187710801587_10205457713586505_963593676766120693_n IMG_213111025785_10205669690403660_8352378998897096797_n IMG_0993IMG_1016IMG_103510918919_10206123371508779_8602578316537466563_o

One thought on “Send Caroline to School

Leave a Reply

