The Crop Top File 3.0


Crop tops are a big staple right now so I can’t help but add to my crop chronicles, especially since we can wear them again now that the temperatures are rising! I found this super easy and casual tee on a whim in American Apparel for under $15. The simplicity of the cut makes the shirt easy to style; the color of it is the tricky part. Olive green isn’t your typical spring/summer color. But for the seasonal transition, I found a few ways to brighten up its dull hue. Pastels are your friend.

LOOK 1

Vest: Free People || Shorts: Timewharp || Shoes: Steve Madden ||Cuff: BCBG
Vest: Free People || Shorts: Timewharp || Shoes: Steve Madden ||Cuff: BCBG

IMG_1059 IMG_1060 IMG_1064 IMG_1068 IMG_1073The first thing I noticed after looking at these pictures is how badly I’m due for a tan… The second thing is that busty girls need to invest in looser tops :/

To put a little spring in your step and your outfit, pastel accessories will always do the trick. This vest is one of the more difficult pieces of clothing I have to match, so I always wear neutrals with it. The main reason I put a vest over this tee is to provide some extra coverage– girls, if you’re on the curvy side, I understand that modesty is difficult to achieve sometimes with the current trends and all… layering will solve that problem! The beading on the vest brings in the tone of my cut-offs and my crop. The ruffled/layered texture makes my look more flirty and girly; much needed to liven up this grunge look. Notice that my beaded bracelet ties in every color from my outfit, too (I got lucky with that one). I’m wearing high waisted shorts to cover my tummy since it’s still a little chilly outside.

LOOK 2

IMG_1075
Belt: Love || Skirt: somewhere in Seaside, FL || Shoes: Steve Madden || Earrings: Kendra Scott

IMG_1079 IMG_1083 IMG_1086 IMG_1092 IMG_1095 IMG_1099The third things I’ve realized from these pictures is that my torso is so small, you can’t even tell my shirt is a crop top #shortgirlproblems

I’m obsessed with this suede fringe skirt. The fringe makes it casual while the suede makes it dressy. So I played up the dressy side of the skirt with my gold plated belt and some neutral kicks. Because the shirt and skirt are both A-line, the belt helps to show off my figure. The gold tones of the accessories brighten up the colors of the outfit while the nude wedges elongate my legs and bring in a summery aspect. Instead of heels, black or gold lace up gladiators would suffice. And yes, I know my pictures are painfully awkward… I had an audience.

Leave a Reply

