Versatile Vintage


Happy Throwback Thursday! I haven’t done a post like this in a few months so this is long over due. I did some more digging through Mom’s closet and found yet another awesome two piece from the 80’s; a linen blush shorts set. It was one of my mom’s favorites from when she was in high school! Like I’ve said a million times before, sets are incredibly versatile because you can use both pieces separately. I’m in love with all these vintage pieces I’ve been finding because you won’t find them anywhere in store nowadays! Except your local thrift shop, of course, but nothing compares to the gems you’ll find in the back of Mom’s closet.

P.S.- Ignore the Hangout Festival wrist band… I can’t make myself take it off just yet. I’m still in Fest mode.

LOOK 1

IMG_1806
Hat: Urban Outfitters || Pearls: Adler’s || Shoes: Jessica Simpson

IMG_1804

IMG_1805IMG_1810 IMG_1822 IMG_1826 IMG_1830 IMG_1833Tea, anyone? Even though the set itself is pretty casual, I love how classy it can become with some pearls! I rarely wear my strand of 100 pearls anymore so I love to showcase them any chance I get. I just wrapped them around my neck twice and knotted the remainder of the strand to give it a bit of a 40’s vibe! The linen is dressed up with the accessories but don’t over power the casualness of the fabric. The ballet flats make the look even more dainty, while my boaters hat makes the outfit less preppy. These shoes are the most comfortable pair of flats I’ve ever owned… I highly suggest making a trip to your nearest Dillard’s and investing in a pair.

LOOK 2

IMG_1861
Bathing suit: Hurley || Necklace: Rodeo Boutique

IMG_1843 IMG_1844
IMG_1851IMG_1863 IMG_1877 IMG_1872 IMG_1880

IMG_1849

Since it’s officially summer, what better way to wear some vintage shorts than as a unique cover-up? I really just wanted to try something different, so I brought out the bathing suits. I stole my sister Elise’s zip up one piece and added a little gold to lighten it up. One pieces are back in style so go find yourself a really cool one! I love the contrast of edginess verses sweetness.

LOOK 3

IMG_1911
Skirt: H&M || Sunglasses: Urban Outfitters || Necklace: Blink || Shoes: Steve Madden

IMG_1927 IMG_1933 IMG_1932 IMG_1935 IMG_1943 IMG_1948 IMG_1955 IMG_1979 IMG_1981

I love the neutral look that the skirt creates against the top of this set! Between the linen, the raised polyester, and the suede, the outfit has so many layers of texture making it work for plenty of different events. I used the beaded necklace to bring in a few new colors and play on the royal blue of the pumps. The lenses of my sunnies match the blue hues, too! Most people would probably stick with nude or other neutral accessories, but the bold blues make this look really pop and gives it a unique factor.

PROMOTIONS

Free People for May:

Leave a Reply

