Sequined Skorts


Skorts used to be sported solely for middle school uniforms on those days when all of your jumpers were dirty but you didn’t want to have to wear ugly those shorts that were way too long and would ride up your butt… Now, skorts are back in style and I found this sequin number from Free People on sale for about $30!  I found mine in New York for an even bigger discount than the website has right now but it’s still up for a really good price; get your’s before it’s gone! There are similar styles of the Free People skort found in stores such as Vertage and Rodeo Boutique. Mine has really intricate and bold beading, making it seemingly difficult to style. If you’re looking for a super simple skort, check out this one. All skorts at Express are on sale!

LOOK 1

IMG_2024
Shirt: Amanda Uprichard || Earrings: Greene Serene || Bracelet: it was a gift || Shoes: Steve Madden 

IMG_2025 IMG_2030 IMG_2033 IMG_2035 IMG_2034 IMG_2036 IMG_2047 IMG_2043

A top like this might be a little too frilly for these bottoms, but a plain white blouse works well for dressing up the skort without making the outfit too overbearing! If you hate wearing bandeaus as much as I do, I suggest investing in a nude, seamless bra for shirts as thin as this one. Black heels with an ankle strap, in my opinion, would look best with this outfit but my nude wedges (AKA my bar shoes) work just as well for going out! My bright pink lips are a subtle pop of color.

LOOK 2

IMG_1989
Tee: Urban Outfitters || Necklace: Saks Off Fifth || Gold Bangle: Kate Spade || Panther cuff: BCBG || Black wristlet: Bella Bella || Shoes: CB || Bralette: Urban Outfitters 

IMG_1995 IMG_1999 IMG_2000 IMG_2003 IMG_2012 IMG_2017 IMG_2018 IMG_2020

I wanted to completely cover the sequins, so I opted for an oversized tee with a high-low hem. The sides of the shirt hide the details of the skort. The essence of the skort is hidden, making it seem like just a plain pair of black bottoms! The black on black almost makes the outfit look like it’s a dress, which I thought was kind of interesting. My sandals almost resemble Birks but are a little trendier.  I put on my lacy bralette to keep the outfit casual and added a statement necklace to lighten it up!

PROMOTIONS

Last week of May on Free People:

Leave a Reply

