Not-Your-Boyfriend’s Bow Tie


Bow ties aren’t only for boys…I’ve been loving the oversized bow tie look on women lately and how classic it instantly makes any outfit. This black tie came with the white blouse found in look one and you may recognize the shirt an earlier post, From White Wash to Light Wash. Winter is right around the corner (or not bc Louisiana weather is the worst) and buttoning your blouses up all the way and adding a neck tie provides just a little bit of warmth and a whole lot of style. And I think this is the first time I’ve styled an accessory!

I also realized that my style isn’t necessarily edgy like I’ve said in the past; it’s eclectic. I adapt my style daily and I love mixing and matching different pieces to make my own brand. I took on the preppy side with these two looks!

LOOK 1

IMG_2942
Blouse: Maven Women’s wear || Shorts: hand me downs || Shoes: Saks Fifth Ave || Socks: Urban Outfitters || Earrings: Urban Outfitters

IMG_2945 IMG_2953 IMG_2956 IMG_2960 IMG_2966 IMG_2971 IMG_2974 IMG_2984 IMG_2987 IMG_3001

Feeling very “Kourtney Kardashian” in this outfit and I’m totally okay with it. This monochrome outfit can be dressed up or down for any occasion and the bow tie puts it in the holiday spirit just in time for all your upcoming Thanksgiving and Christmas parties. A pleated pant would dress this up even more, but I wanted to come up with different levels to the outfit by wearing a structured short and knee socks. These two-toned suede booties break up my legs to prevent from looking like I have kankles since the socks are so thick. But the knee highs elongate my legs anyway and is only intensified by the heel on the boots. I stuck with dainty gold studs to keep the look clean.

LOOK 2

IMG_3018
Dress: Banana Republic || Boots: DSW || Earrings: Claire’s

IMG_3011 IMG_3026 IMG_3027 IMG_3036 IMG_3035 IMG_3040 IMG_3043 IMG_3059

This sassy snakeskin number has enough character of its own, but I gave it a new image with the bow tie. And this dress is on sale at Banana Republic!! This outfit is pretty monochrome too, so I gave it a different hue with my plum Burt’s Bees Lip Shimmer (I swear by it). I scored these suede knee-highs this summer at DSW for $30 but I think they’re selling for $50 now since they’re in season. They also have them in electric blue and they’re awesome. Being short and wearing a shift dress isn’t always the most flattering, so rolling up the sleeves and wearing a heightening shoe will help with proportions. For my fellow shorties: How to Wear Knee High Boots If You’re Short.  And yes, I bought these enormous hoop earrings at Claire’s… and no I am not ashamed.

I’ll be doing much more posting over Christmas break so be on stand-by for holiday party ideas! XO, Caroline

2 thoughts on “Not-Your-Boyfriend’s Bow Tie

Leave a Reply

