Play on Patterns


Spring has sprung! Not much like the blooms that were supposed to be featured in this photo shoot… The weather’s throwing everything off. But regardless of the clouds, it was a beautiful March day and I couldn’t wait to get to blogging again! I promise to post more over the summer; this semester has been busier than I thought it would be (excuses, excuses, I know…).

So since Easter Sunday is tomorrow, I figured people might be wondering what to wear for mass or other festivities. My initial thought was to post a pastel dress, but I guarantee you’ll see that on every other fashion blog this weekend. Try some fun patterns instead! Dress up more than I did in this post, but play on patterns with a fun statement piece instead of sticking with the basic hues associated with spring. It’s more fun this way, I promise.

With pants as busy as these, you have two options: 1) stick to basics shapes and colors to pair them with, 2)  go big or go home.

LOOK 1

IMG_3744
Top: Maven Women’s Wear || Sandals: Steve Madden || Earrings: Hemline || Bag: Steve Madden

With an oversized tee and baggy pants, and both being busy, the best way to keep it flattering is to make sure that your patterns correspond to each other in a way. Both my top and bottoms have a striped pattern to them. Black and white are both featured in the pant, as well as serving as neutrals. And just to add more, I couldn’t resist but wear my favorite teal sandals! Dainty jewelry will add perfect little touches to this overwhelming get up.

LOOK 2

IMG_3771
Top: Tibi || Earrings: BaubleBar || Bralette: Urban Outfitters || Shoes: Chinese Laundry

Maybe rather than mixing patterns, mix textures! This cut out lace top plays on the florals in my pant fabric and makes them chic. I chose black peep toes because it was an easy route; any nude heel, black mule, etc. would work perfectly. I just got these standout earrings from Baublebar and I wear them with everything I possibly can… I’m obsessed. They add just enough sparkle and a bit more edge.

 

Just a little post-Lenten update: I gave up shopping again this year and didn’t give in once! Wahoo!! I’m really proud of myself, not going to lie… It reaffirmed that I don’t need materialistic things to fill the potential voids in my heart, but new shiny clothes sure do make me smile! So you best believe I’ll be spending my well-earned paychecks on the newest spring trends. Gotta keep my inventory up to date, right? I hope everyone has a blessed and happy Easter! He is risen!

Leave a Reply

