Basic Button Downs


So I think it’s safe to say that everyone knows how to style your basic button down… But I’d like to spice it up a bit. Owning a white button down blouse is essential (in my opinion). It’s one of the best and most versatile pieces in your closet! This stands for guys, too. Your button down can be dressed up with a modern skirt and heels or dressed down with jeans and sneakers. Or a million other ways! Refer to Not Your Boyfriend’s Bow Tie for other styling ideas 🙂

LOOK 1

IMG_3645
Hat: Urban Outfitters || Shorts: Maven Womenswear || Shoes: Kenneth Cole

 

Hats off to the botanical gardens at the new Goodwood Library… you’re coming in quite nicely. Spring is my favorite season and you can see my excitement as I twirl around in my favorite pair of Chiffon shorts! Somehow, they really do go with everything. For a trendy twist to this easy blouse, I used the neck tie that came with it as a “summer scarf”. My gold slip-on tennies make the outfit more casual, as does the tweed boaters hat. The button down just supplies that little bit of cleanliness that this outfit needs to keep from becoming too overwhelming!

 LOOK 2

IMG_3685
Jeans: Lovers and Friends || Boots: FreePeople || Bralette: Urban Outfitters || Necklace: Rodeo Boutique

 

Okay so let me talk on these boots for a hot minute… I had been stalking them on FreePeople for 8 months and they started at $400. This February, I snagged the last pair, which just so happened to be in my size, for $150. Don’t ever lose hope, my fellow shoppers. There is gold at the end of the rainbow. This outfit was inspired by Aimee Song (Song of Style) because 1) she’s completely fabulous and 2) her style seems similar to mine and I love how she plays on her jeans! For an edgier look for the button down, I made sure my bralette peeped out just enough. With the piping on the jeans, the crocodile skin on the boots, and the layered gold chains, this basic blouse got one hell of an upgrade.

Leave a Reply

